The Community Trade Mark (CTM) system offers trademark owners a unified system of protection throughout the European Union (EU) with the filing of a single application. If successful, this one application results in a CTM registration that is recognized in all countries of the EU.

The countries covered by a CTM registration are Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia. 

Single/Multi-Class Jurisdiction

1-3 classes

Can services be registered


Can Convention priority be claimed

Yes – within 6 months for the date of filing the first application. 

Is the International Classification

The Nice Classification is a system of classifying goods and services for Community trade mark (CTM) applications. It consists of 45 classes. 

Documentation required to file

1. A power of attorney signed by the applicant, indicating the full name and position of the signatory.

2.        Prints of the mark.

4.        Translation of foreign terms is required.

6.        No legalization or notarization is required.


Opposition period after publication

3 months  

Renewal due

10 years from the filing date

Documents required to renew

Power of Attorney 

Proof of use due

None due

Documents required to file proof of use


Can be struck off for non-use

Yes, in orderto avoid the revocation of your community registration, the trademark must be used in atleast one member state of the European Union.

Countries of Representation and IP Information